How Oberlin Works

Ask me how.


Board of Trustees

President's Office

Conservatory of Music

Academic Departments and Programs (Con)

Academic Departments and Programs (Con)

The Conservatory is divided into nine divisions and and one program: Conducting and Ensembles; Contemporary Music (which includes the Composition, TIMARA, and Jazz departments); Historical Performance; Keyboard Studies (which includes the Piano and Organ departments); Music Education; Musicology; Music Theory; Strings; Voice; and Woodwinds, Brass, and Percussion. Each division or program is administered by a director, who coordinates the affairs of the division or program, prepares an annual report summarizing the work of the division or program, supervises administrative assistants, and serves on the Educational Policy Committee (EPC), which oversees and coordinates matters of Conservatory curriculum and educational policy.