How Oberlin Works

Ask me how.


General Faculty

College Faculty

College Faculty Committees

Curricular Committees (A&S)

Curricular Committees (A&S)

Most curricular committees run majors and offer courses, but do not hire or promote faculty; those duties are handled by the faculty member’s ‘home’ department or program (the MENA curricular committee excepted). Other curricular committees administer aspects of the College’s academic offerings and requirements, such as the Danenberg Oberlin-In-London program or the quantitative proficiency and cultural diversity requirements.

Archeological Studies Curricular Committee

This committee promotes opportunities for students in the field of archeology and coordinates activities both on and off campus. Membership includes faculty members in Ancient Art, Anthropology, Classics, Religion, and departments with related concerns.

Cognitive Science Curricular Committee

This committee oversees individual advising of students pursuing this concentration and submits an annual report to the dean evaluating the operation of the concentration. Membership includes at least five faculty members appropriate for advising students in this area.

Comparative Literature Curricular Committee

This committee approves proposals for a major in Comparative Literature and sponsors an annual Comparative Literature Symposium and student essay contest in spring semester. Membership usually includes eight faculty, including those with Comparative Literature appointments.

Danenberg Oberlin-In-London Curricular Committee

This committee plans and administers an interdisciplinary program of study in London. Membership includes eight members representing all three divisions of the College of Arts and Sciences and the Conservatory of Music, including at least one member of the English Department and two students.

International Studies Concentration Curricular Committee

This committee oversees the concentration and advises students who choose it. Membership usually includes seven faculty.

Latin American Studies Curricular Committee

This is an interdisciplinary curricular committee which advises student majors, oversees curriculum, and coordinates and supports related activities such as lectures and film. Membership usually includes six faculty; the committee meets monthly.

Law and Society Curricular Committee

Oversees individual major in Law and Society and invites speakers to campus on law-related topics. Membership usually includes three faculty; the committee meets four to six times each year. 

Middle East and North African Studies (MENA) Curricular Committee

This committee oversees the MENA curriculum and conducts recruitment for faculty whose expertise pertains to the MENA program but are members of a department (such as Religion or History). Membership includes a maximum of seven faculty, drawn from both Social Sciences and Humanities divisions (particularly from departments with curricular connections to MENA), and two students, who do not participate in personnel matters.

Multicultural Studies Curricular Committee

This committee oversees the cultural diversity requirement and encourages multi-cultural initiatives in the curriculum. Membership includes an Associate Dean of the College (chair) and usually six faculty.

Quantitative Proficiency Curricular Committee

This committee oversees the development and administration of courses and enrollment under the requirements for quantitative proficiency. Membership usually includes five faculty.

Russian and East European Studies Curricular Committee

This committee coordinates curricular activities in the area of Russian and East European Studies. Membership usually includes four faculty.

Third World Studies Curricular Committee

This committee is responsible for encouraging and developing academic work in Third World Studies and for advising and directing students who wish to pursue an individual course of study in this area. Membership usually includes five faculty.